noobui.blogg.se

Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8
Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8




  1. Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8 update#
  2. Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8 pro#
  3. Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8 software#

I looked at how far off each file was from 0, 50, and 100 and also the standard deviation of R, G, and B from each of the W-P, M-P, and B-P. My methodology, though not necessarily professional robust or exhaustive, was to open each file in Photoshop, and compare the RGB values of the white-points, mid-points, and black-points. Just for kicks, I also did a test scan using my Brother MFC printer’s scanning feature. I am using a desktop iMac using MacOS 10.13.6. Using the bundled IT8 reflective and transmissive targets I ran 20 tests with different settings using Epson Scan, Vue Scan, SilverFast, and Image Capture. I ran the i1 profiler which is only available on the Epson Scan.

silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8

I’ve upgraded my scanner to the Epson v850 which came bundled with Epson Scan, SilverFast SE Plus 8, and Z-Rite i1 Scanner Profiler. Perhaps someone else is able to use this feature better than I have been able to and can offer a few pointers! The first time I used Vuescan I was disappointed to find when I tried to crop a second photo the crop on the first disappeared, and I had to scan each photo separately.Ī look at Vuescan’s website told me I can in fact scan multiple images, but can do it only in the standard setting, and the photos have to be lined up either vertically or horizontally, which is much more limiting than I would like. With other applications I could crop each photo and then scan each one in one go. My big problem with Vuescan is trying to scan multiple images when I have 3 or 4 photos in the Preview screen. I haven’t a clue what half the settings do but it makes me feel cool to be using the most advanced setting.

Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8 software#

Vuescan is very similar to other scanning software I have used in that you begin with a choice of Basic, Standard and Professional modes. My main use is scanning decades of family photos and my level of expertise is rather basic. I’ve now downloaded and paid for Vuescan, and it works, which is all I was really hoping for. I did try Epson’s site and did download what I thought to be a suitable driver, but to no avail, no matter which switches were on or off.

silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8

Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8 update#

Interesting read, all comments! One thing I found rather irritating with Epson was that for years they have bombarded me with software updates but since the last OSX update I seem to have had nothing.

Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8 pro#

Silverfast is not bad, it’s simply just to big a hassle to use.Īnd now that the Lightroom plugin Negative Lab Pro has become part of my workflow, Vuescan is the only software I can use.

silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8

My go to scanner software is Vuescan, although the learning curve is a bit steep, it’s still the best software out there if you ask me. I – as mentioned above – don’t use the Epson software anymore, and haven’t for some time now. So feel free to add you experience in the comments below. I stop using the Epson software a while ago, so it might not be as precise a judgment as Vuescan and Silverfast, because it’s made from my memories of the software.Īnd this is of course my personal experience with the different software, yours maybe different.

silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8

They were tested on an Epson V700 and/or Plustek 120 scanner. Here’s a quick comparison of what I think is good and bad about the Vuescan, Epson and Silverfast scanner software.






Silverfast se 8 vs silverfast se plus 8